Sports Broadcasting HOF Benefits Sports Broadcasting Fund and Those in Need

The 2012 Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame ceremony, held on Dec. 11, raised more than $100,000 for the Sports Broadcasting Fund.

“The Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame continues its evolution from a celebration of excellence to an event that is at the center of the Sports Broadcasting Fund,” says Ken Aagaard, chairman, Sports Broadcasting Fund and Sports Broadcasting HOF. “Everyone who purchased a ticket or table is helping those in our industry who are most in need, and  I want to thank you all on behalf of myself and everyone else involved with the Fund.”

The Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame inducted the Class of 2012 at an unforgettable ceremony at the New York Hilton Hotel. The Hall of Fame’s sixth class of inductees is made up of ESPN Executive Chairman George Bodenheimer, audio pioneer Ray Dolby, famed NFL commentator Frank Gifford, CBS and Fox Sports production visionary executive Ed Goren, trailblazing NBC cameraman Cory Leible, former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue, former NBC operations and engineering guru Jack Weir, and iconic broadcaster Jack Whitaker.

The Sports Broadcasting Fund, established early this year, is designed to offer financial assistance to those in the sports-broadcast-production community who find themselves and their family in need due to illness, death, or disaster. The goal is simple: to help ease financial burdens that can add emotional stress to already stressful and difficult situations.

If you are interested in making a donation to the SVG Sports Broadcasting Fund, please contact Paul Gallo, co-executive director of the Sports Video Group, at 212-696-1799 or via e-mail at

The SVG Sports Broadcasting Fund is a designated fund of the Alma Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit charity. We are proud to say that 90¢ of every dollar goes directly to charities. For more information or to view the Alma Foundation’s 990 tax return, please visit FL REG# CH34972 • AL REG# AL11-461.


Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters