Ohlmeyer, Scully, Gowdy Top 2008 Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame Class

The Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame, formed in 2007 to honor sports TV industry innovators and leaders, has announced its 2008 inductee class. Marvin Bader, Chet Forte, Curt Gowdy, Ted Nathanson, Don Ohlmeyer, Val Pinchbeck, Vin Scully, Bob Seiderman, and Charlie Steinberg will be officially inducted into the Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame on Dec. 16 in New York in a ceremony hosted by Jim Nantz, CBS Sports lead play-by-play announcer.
The Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame is produced by the Sports Video Group (SVG), an industry association dedicated to advancing the creation, production, and distribution of sports content. For more information about SVG, visit staging.sportsvideo.org.
More than 80 industry leaders from national broadcast networks, cable sports networks, leagues, teams, and related organizations participated in the selection process this past summer. Honorees were elected in seven categories: management, production, technical operations, engineering, leagues and teams, manufacturers and vendors, and on-air talent.
The 2008 honorees will join last year’s inaugural Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame class: Roone Arledge, Julius Barnathan, Frank Chirkinian, Howard Cosell, Harry Coyle, Jim McKay, Pete Rozelle, Ed Sabol, Tom Shelburne, Larry Thorpe, and George Wensel.
“The sports broadcast industry has become a powerhouse, thanks to the contributions of these individuals,” says Ken Aagaard, Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame chairman and CBS Sports EVP, operations and production services. “Their vision and professional excellence has enriched the TV-viewing experience for millions of sports fans.”
The 2008 class of the Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame:
Marvin Bader:
Bader was responsible for all the production services during ABC’s three-decade string of Olympics coverage (1960s, ’70s, and ’80s). As VP, ABC Sports Olympic Operations, he oversaw the host-broadcast feed of the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics.
Chet Forte:
Forte was the first director of ABC’s
Monday Night Football in 1970, redefining NFL coverage in the process. He worked with executive producer Arledge to display the game as entertainment as well as a sporting event and making it a must-watch for NFL fans.
Curt Gowdy:
During his 34-year career, Gowdy did it all — covering 13 World Series, 16 MLB All-Star games, nine Super Bowls, 14 Rose Bowls, eight Olympic Games, and 24 NCAA Final Fours, not to mention co-creating and producing
Wide World of Sports with Arledge and working on
American Sportsman.
Ted Nathanson:
Nathanson oversaw some of the greatest TV moments in sports history during his career as a director at NBC. For his work, he garnered an Emmy Award and the first Directors Guild of America Lifetime Achievement Award for Sports Television (1991).
Don Ohlmeyer:
Ohlmeyer began his career at ABC, where he worked on
Wide World of Sports, produced
Monday Night Football, and produced and directed three Olympic Games TV packages before moving to NBC, where he served as president of the West Coast division from 1993 to ’99.
Val Pinchbeck:
Pinchbeck was a long-time NFL executive and one of NFL commissioner Pete Rozelle’s chief advisors. As the NFL’s head of broadcasting for more than two decades, he served as a liaison on television and radio with the 30 NFL teams and with the various networks that broadcast games.
Vin Scully:
The long-time voice of the Brooklyn and Los Angeles Dodgers, Scully has been with the franchise on both coasts for 59 seasons. He has called 25 World Series and 14 National League Championship series.
Bob Seiderman:
Honored with
four Emmy Awards, Seiderman’s technical wizardry took the sports-audio experience from a secondary position behind video to an equal one. While at CBS Sports and Fox Sports, he defined the aural landscape of everything from NASCAR to the NFL.
Charlie Steinberg:
Steinberg oversaw the development of some of the most important production tools for sportscasters, including instant-replay systems in the late 1960s and, three decades later, HDTV. For transforming sports coverage through technology developments, Steinberg won three Emmys.
For biographies and tribute videos for last year’s inductees, visit: staging.sportsvideo.org/hof.
For information about sponsoring this year’s Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame, please contact Rob Payne at: [email protected] or 212-481-8131.
For tickets and tables, please contact Carrie Bowden at [email protected] or 917-446-4412.

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters


The Latest in Sports Video Production & Technology
in Your Inbox for FREE

Daily Email Newsletters Monday - Friday