SPEED Inks Three-Year Deal for MotoGP World Championship

SPEED and Dorna Sports have reached a three-year deal to broadcast the MotoGP World Championship. The coverage will be featured in HD for the first time and will include several enhanced production features.

“In addition to the international feed shared by all partners, SPEED will produce SPEED-specific features, interviews, and graphic enhancements,” sayes Rick Miner, SPEED SVP of production and network operations. “We are really stepping up the presentation for the American audience.”

Greg Creamer will be the SPEED in-studio host, with Nick Harris handling play-by-play for the international feed. Ian Wheeler will provide analysis and Gavin Emmett will report from the pits.

Coverage begins this weekend with the season-opening Grand Prix of Qatar on the 3.343-mile Losail International Circuit. The two U.S. rounds are scheduled for July 25 at Laguna Seca and Aug. 29 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

SPEEDtv.com will offer full coverage of each event with photos and content from Moto Racing Editor Chris Martin and columnists Dennis Noyes, Evan Williams, and Colin Young. In addition, SPEED has expanded video rights beginning this season, with 10 minutes of footage from each event available on SPEEDtv.com

MotoGP on SPEED air date and times

  • Grand Prix of Qatar – April 11 (4 p.m. ET, Live)
  • Japan – April 25 (Late night Saturday, April 24, 2 a.m. ET, Live)
  • Spanish Grand Prix – May 2 (8 a.m. ET, Live)
  • French Grand Prix – May 25 (2 p.m. ET, taped)
  • Italian Grand Prix – June 6 (8 a.m. ET, Live)
  • British Grand Prix – June 20 (9:30 a.m. ET, Live)
  • Dutch Grand Prix – June 26 (9:30 a.m. ET, SDD)
  • Catalunyan Grand Prix – July 4 (8 a.m. ET, Live)
  • German Grand Prix – July 18 (8 a.m. ET, Live)
  • U.S. Grand Prix – July 25 (TBD)
  • Czech Grand Prix – August 15 (8 a.m. ET, Live)
  • Indianapolis Grand Prix – August 29 (TBD)
  • San Marino – September 5 (8 a.m. ET, Live)
  • Hungary – September 19 (9 a.m. ET, Live)
  • Malaysian Grand Prix – October 10 (6 p.m. ET, SDD)
  • Australian Grand Prix – October 17 (Late night Saturday, October 16, 1 a.m. ET, Live)
  • Portugal – October 31 (5 p.m. ET, SDD)
  • Valencia Grand Prix – November 7 (8 a.m. ET, Live)

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters


The Latest in Sports Video Production & Technology
in Your Inbox for FREE

Daily Email Newsletters Monday - Friday