Behind the Mic: Gottlieb Moves to CBS; Rovell Returns to ESPN

Compiled by Jason Dachman, Managing Editor, SVG

Doug Gottlieb of ESPN has signed a multi-year deal with CBS and will contribute across CBS Sports properties. Gottlieb will host afternoons (3:00-6:00 PM, ET) on CBS Sports Radio.  He will debut on Jan. 2, 2013, the same day CBS Sports Radio launches. Gottlieb will serve as studio and game analyst for CBS Sports’ coverage of regular-season college basketball and the Network’s joint coverage with Turner Sports of the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship. Gottlieb will host a new show airing weekdays on CBS Sports Network beginning this fall and will be an analyst for regular-season college basketball. Gottlieb will be an exclusive contributor to, including columns, podcasts and College Basketball 360…

…Sports business reporter Darren Rovell has returned to ESPN as a contributor to ESPN TV, digital and Radio, as well as ABC News. Rovell served as sports business writer for from 2000-06, and reported for ESPN’s SportsCenter, Outside the Lines, and ESPNEWS. Since 2006, Rovell has been CNBC’s sports business reporter, hosting CNBC SportsBiz: Game On on NBC Sports Network. Upon returning to ESPN, Rovell’s business reports will be seen, heard, and read across ESPN platforms. He will contribute to various ABC News broadcasts and platforms including Good Morning America, World News with Diane Sawyer and Nightline…

…Fox Sports unveiled its NFL announce teams this week, welcoming former NFL head coach Mike Martz and former NFL fullback Heath Evans as game analysts. Fox also announced that former ESPN sideline reporter Erin Andrews will work with the network’s top broadcast team – Joe Buck, Troy Aikman, and Pam Oliver – for FOX’s Thanksgiving game and NFC Playoffs coverage…

ESPN rolled out its college football announce teams this week, with several commentators taking on new roles and former Ohio State standout and NFL Prow Bowler Joey Galloway joining the team. In addition, Brent Musburger and Kirk Herbstreit will return for their seventh season together on the ABC Saturday Night Football series while Brad Nessler, Todd Blackledge and Holly Rowe will continue to work the Saturday ESPN College Football Primetime telecast.

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters