NBA TV to Televise NBA Social Media Awards

NBA TV will televise the second annual NBA Social Media Awards presented by SAP – celebrating NBA players, teams and fans for their social engagement throughout the 2012-13 NBA regular season – on Wednesday, June 12, at 8 p.m. (ET).

Chris Webber (@realchriswebber) will host the show along with contributions and appearances from various players and celebrities.  The show will recognize some of the best moments from the 2012-13 NBA regular season, which resonated with fans and generated the most social engagement.

The NBA Social Media Awards presented by SAP will be divided into various categories recognizing social activity across Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, YouTube and more.  Along with returning awards such as The BIG (Best In The Game) Award and The LOL (Laugh out Loud) Award, new categories this year include:

  • #Trendsetter Award – for the player that displayed the best sense of style via social media;
  • The 140 Award – for the player with the most impressive tweet of the year;
  • The OMG Award – for the team with the best video shared via social;
  • The Social Rook of the Year Award – for the rookie with the biggest increase in popularity across social media platforms.

Fans can vote now through Friday, May 31, for their favorite moments from the season by visiting Voting will also be available via Twitter using #NBASMA and the mobile website with the winners being announced during the broadcast. Additionally, voting for The Social Slam Award, which recognizes the favorite dunk during the regular season, will remain open on Twitter during the show with the winner announced live.

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters


The Latest in Sports Video Production & Technology
in Your Inbox for FREE

Daily Email Newsletters Monday - Friday