First-Ever ESPN Collegiate Esports Championship Finalizes Participating Schools

All 22 qualifying teams from 20 schools participating in the first-ever ESPN Collegiate Esports Championship (CEC), being held at Comicpalooza in Houston from May 10 – 12, 2019, are officially locked in. Hundreds of schools from across North America competed in qualifiers hosted by Tespa and Collegiate StarLeague (CSL) to secure their spots in the LAN (local area network) semi-finals and championships. Overwatch competition will also include a quarterfinal at the LAN event.

Finalists will compete for prizing in the form of scholarships, and the LAN Championship will be streamed globally on ESPN Esports’ Twitch channel. The full weekend schedule, produced and staged by ESPN Events, is also available now at Individual day tickets and three-day passes for Comicpalooza, including access to the CEC, start at just $45 for adults and can be purchased at

Teams qualifying for each game are as follows:

Maryville University
Carleton University
New Jersey Institute of Technology
Harrisburg University of Science and Technology
Grand Canyon University
Orange Coast College
Rutgers University
University of Utah

Street Fighter V: Arcade Edition
New Jersey Institute of Technology
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Lambton College
Sheridan College

Georgia Institute of Technology
Rochester Institute of Technology
University of Minnesota – Twin Cities
University of Oregon

StarCraft II
University of California – Berkeley
University of California – San Diego
University of Chicago
University of Waterloo

Heroes of the Storm
California State Polytechnic University – Pomona
Rutgers University

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters


The Latest in Sports Video Production & Technology
in Your Inbox for FREE

Daily Email Newsletters Monday - Friday