The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Releases Recipients of 71st Annual Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) has announced the recipients of the 71st Annual Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards. The event will take place in partnership with the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB), at the NAB Show at the Wynn Encore Hotel and Spa on Sunday, April 19th, 2020 in Las Vegas.

“The Technology & Engineering Emmy Award was the first Emmy Award issued in 1949 and it laid the groundwork for all the other Emmys to come,” said Adam Sharp, CEO & President, NATAS. “We are especially excited to be honoring Yvette Kanouff with our Lifetime Achievement Award in Technology & Engineering. We are also extremely happy about honoring these prestigious companies at our gala, again at NAB Show, where the intersection of innovation, technology, and excitement in the future of television can be found.”

The Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards are awarded to a living individual, a company, or a scientific or technical organization for developments and/or standardization involved in engineering technologies that either represent so extensive an improvement on existing methods or are so innovative in nature that they materially have affected television.

“The Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards have always recognized the talented and innovative leaders and companies that have made the incredible world of television possible,” said Robert Seidel. One of these leaders is Yvette Kanouff, who has held CTO and President roles at various companies in the cable and media industry and spearheaded transformational technologies including, video on demand, cloud DVR, digital and on-demand advertising, streaming security and privacy. The National Academy is happy to be honoring her with our Lifetime Achievement Award in Technology.”

A Committee of highly qualified engineers working in television considers technical developments in the industry and determines which, if any, merit an award

“We are thrilled that NATAS has again chosen to recognize the industry’s most innovative companies and leading technology minds at NAB Show,” said NAB President and CEO Gordon Smith. “As the world’s largest event focused on the intersection of media and technology, NAB Show is a natural fit for this prestigious awards program. We congratulate the award winners and look forward to celebrating their achievements in April.

The individuals and companies that will be honored at the event follow.

2019 Technical/Engineering Achievement Awards

  • Pioneering System for Live Performance-Based Animation Using Facial Recognition
    • Adobe
  • HTML5 Development and Deployment of a Full TV Experience on Any Device
    • Apple
    • Google
    • LG
    • Microsoft
    • Mozilla
    • Opera
    • Samsung
  • Pioneering Public Cloud Based linear Media Supply Chains
    • AWS
    • Discovery
    • Evertz
    • Fox Neo (Walt Disney Television)
    • SDVI
  • Pioneering Development of Large Scale, Cloud Served, Broadcast Quality, Linear Channel Transmission to Consumers
    • Sling TV
    • Sony PlayStation Vue
    • Zattoo
    • Early Development of HSM Systems that Created a Pivotal Improvement in Broadcast Workflows
    • Dell (Isilon)
    • IBM
    • Masstech
    • Quantum
  • Pioneering Development and Deployment of Hybrid Fiber Coax Network Architecture
    • Cable Labs
  • Pioneering Development of the CCD Image Sensor
    • Bell Labs
    • Michael Tompsett
  • VoCIP (Video over Bonded Cellular Internet)
    • AVI WEST
    • Dejero
    • LiveU
    • TVU Networks
  • Ultra-High Sensitivity HDTV Camera
    • Canon
    • Flovel
  • Development of Synchronized multi-channel uncompressed audio transport over IP Networks
    • ALC NetworX
    • Audinate
    • Audio Engineering Society
    • Kevin Gross
    • QSC
    • Telos Alliance
    • Wheatstone

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters


The Latest in Sports Video Production & Technology
in Your Inbox for FREE

Daily Email Newsletters Monday - Friday