Fox Sports Plans Expansive, Multiplatform Coverage of FIFA Women’s World Cup

FOX Sports is planning the most expansive and comprehensive multiplatform coverage ever of the FIFA Women’s World Cup, including an unprecedented 16 matches airing live on FOX broadcast network, when the tournament commences in Canada next June. The announcement was made today by Eric Shanks, President, COO and Executive Producer, FOX Sports.

FOX Sports televises all 52 games in the expanded tournament from six cities across Canada between June 6 and July 5, 2015 live on FOX; FOX Sports 1, America’s fastest growing network; and FOX Sports 2. Digitally, all games are available on tablets and mobile devices via the FOX Sports GO app and online at

In addition to the 16 matches committed to FOX, which include one semifinal, the third place match on July 4 and the final on July 5, FOX Sports 1 carries 30 matches, including all eight in the round of 16, two quarterfinals and one semifinal. The remaining six games are slated for FOX Sports 2. Never before has a broadcast network televised 16 FIFA Women’s or Men’s World Cup matches, and the 2015 event marks the first time since 2003 that any FIFA Women’s World Cup matches are scheduled for over-the-air broadcast in the U.S. Combining games with anticipated pregame, postgame and complementary programming, FOX Sports is expected to provide almost 200 hours of coverage from FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015TM averaging between six and seven hours a day over the month-long tournament.

The field for FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015TM has been expanded from 16 to 24 teams and from 32 to 52 matches. Eight countries make their debuts in the tournament while four champions return, including the U.S. Women’s National Team. The top-ranked USWNT finds itself in the “Group of Death” which includes Sweden (No. 5), Australia (No. 10) and African champion Nigeria, the only group featuring three of the world’s top 10 teams.

Japan enters the tournament as its defending champion, having beaten the USWNT in a penalty shootout following a 2-2 draw extra time in the 2011 final in Germany. The US (1991 & 1999) and

Germany (2003 & 2007) are the only teams to win the title twice since the quadrennial tournament began in 1991. Norway took the crown in 1995.

The last five FIFA Women’s World Cup tournaments were televised by ESPN or ESPN-related networks and game coverage featured 32 matches in 1999, 2007 and 2011; 18 matches in 2003; and six matches in 1995. ABC last broadcast FIFA Women’s World Cup matches over the air in 2003, carrying three. ABC combined to air seven FIFA Women’s World Cup matches in the three tournaments from 1995 to 2003.

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters


The Latest in Sports Video Production & Technology
in Your Inbox for FREE

Daily Email Newsletters Monday - Friday