Ultra HD Premium in a Nutshell


Extracted from ExpertReviews.co.uk:

There are three specifications in total, with one covering devices such as TVs, one for distribution channels and another for content. At the moment, the UHD Alliance says that all three prioritise image quality, but that each one also recommends support for next-generation audio. To qualify for the logo, all three specs demand an image resolution of 3,840×2,160 and support for a minimum of 10-bit colour signal (existing Blu-ray discs only support 8-bit colour), a wide colour gamut and HDR.

However, devices must go one step further to satisfy the UHD Alliance’s HDR requirements. They must either have a combination of more than 1,000 nits peak brightness and less than 0.05 nits black level, or more than 540 nits peak brightness and less than 0.0005 nits black level. This would suggest that LED TVs must meet the former specification, while dimmer OLED TVs must meet the latter.

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters


The Latest in Sports Video Production & Technology
in Your Inbox for FREE

Daily Email Newsletters Monday - Friday