NATAS To Hand Out Sports Emmy for Outstanding Esports Coverage in 2020

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced a new category for this year’s Sports Emmy Awards. Outstanding Esports Coverage will recognize the craft behind the delivery of coverage and presentation of competitive, organized video gaming to the viewer during a “championship” or “final” event.

In the past, esports entries have received nominations in categories such as Outstanding Studio Design/Art Direction and Outstanding Trans-Media Sports Coverage. For their work in 2017, League of Legends (Riot Games) was named the honoree in the Outstanding Live Graphic Design Category.

“We are entering an exciting new chapter for the Sports Emmy Awards with the addition of an exclusive category dedicated to recognizing excellence within esports,” said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS. “The category, Outstanding Esports Coverage, illustrates the Academy’s commitment to remain on the forefront of the ever-changing world of sports production.”

The global esports market has shown rapid growth including increased media coverage by many major networks such as ESPN. According to a new study from gaming researcher, “New Zoo,” total revenue will hit $1.1 billion in 2019, representing a 26.7% growth rate compared to the $897.2 million it generated in 2018.

The news follows the Academy’s appointment of four-time Emmy Award winner Justine Gubar as Executive Director of Sports Emmy Awards Administration. In this role she will manage all areas of sports competition as a standard-bearer for the premiere recognition of excellence in the television industry. Gubar spent 20 years working for ESPN along with stints at Univision, Turner Sports, and ABC News.

“It is an honor to be a part of the Academy during such a pivotal time,” said Gubar. “The addition of a category dedicated to esports welcomes an entire new pool of talent. I look forward to recognizing the creative minds that embrace newer technology, trends, and passions within the sports industry.”

The 41st Sports Emmy Awards will take place in New York City in May 2020.

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters


The Latest in Sports Video Production & Technology
in Your Inbox for FREE

Daily Email Newsletters Monday - Friday