2022 Sports Emmys: ESPN’s John LaChance Commends Production, Technical Crew of the CFP National Championship

The team was honored for Outstanding Technical Team Event

The College Football Playoff National Championship kicks off the annual sports calendar in January, and while that position presents a golden opportunity, it also adds a bit of pressure on the production and technical crews at ESPN. The 2022 edition between the University of Alabama Crimson Tide and the University of Georgia Bulldogs turned the tides of the college football landscape, and despite the challenges, obstacles, and eyes of millions of viewers watching at home, the four-letter network broadcasted the spectacle with style and precision and won the Sports Emmy for Outstanding Technical Team Event.

At the 2022 Sports Emmys, ESPN’s Director, Remote Production Operations John LaChance highlights how the crew elevates and improves the production every year and gives credit to his colleagues that helped make this game a huge success.

Other notable names that worked on this production include:

Technical Supervisors
Stephen Ackels, Rex Arends, Ryan Bastek, Jim Birch, Chris Calcinari, Kevin Cleary, Jack Coffey, Liza Cole, Jesse Kupec, Joe Lyons, Leigh Michaud, Thomas Mitchell, Derek Mobley, Richard Mullen, Neang Ne, Cindy Pennington, Ed Placey, Richard Rappi, Brian Ristine, Henry Rousseau, Bob Simon, Chris Swihart, Daryl Timothy, Kevin Wendling, Ryan Zainc

Technical Directors
Ross Flagg, Bob Yodice, John Zipay

Electronic Camera Persons
Steve Angel, Chris Bancroft, Rick Beattie, Bill Brennan, Graham Carpenter, Rene Champagne, Tim Coakley, John Delgiorno, Mike Denton, Alex Dicicco, Shawn Eyre, Larry Faircloth, Kevin Flagg, Corny Harris, Kirby Hilderbrand, Ryan Humble, Tyler Ibarra, Al Ishu, Dallas Kieffer, Andre Koroskenyi, Robert Krumme, Gwendoline Lauzel-Thorne, Erik Leidal, Dana Levin, Willie Lockhart, Clay Loveless, Steve Lowe, John Lubash, Trevor MacHalick, Shane Marshall, Sean O’Halloran, Nick Paredes, Dustin Paulos, Steve Ritchie, Kevin Rogers, Joe Schmidt, Erik Sears, John Senese, Mike Shea, Dana Sherman, Tim Stevens, Tom Stone, Sam Tamez, Tim Tew, Duke Thorne, Brian Thorne, Ted Van Allen, Ulrich Vilbois, Mike Williams, Craig Ziogas

Graphics Operators
Drew Breese, Craig Dutra, Thomas Grow

Senior Audio Engineers
Devin Barnhart, Dan Bernstein, Greg Fowler, Thom Mangan, Steve Yoder

Audio Engineers
Tim Bischof, Aaron Lang, Alex Meszaros, Shawn Peacock, Kale Sallee, Eric Williams, Abby Worsfold

Audio Assistants
Jon Beil, Mike Brown, Joel Cook, Carlos Garcia, Chase Hayes, Michael Hogg, Jerry Hooper, Keith Marrero, Sumner Thompson

Digital Replay Operators
Sam Abramson, Mike Allen, Shan Amin, Logan Boren, Mike Campana, Ryan Conrey, Matt Croley, Jim Dove, George Dunmore, Nathaniel Flynn-Ryan, Stan Francois, Ryan Gemmel, Jason Kalish, Brian Lowe, David Paulson, Mike Pelkey, Anatoly Skuratovskiy, Steve Smyrl

Senior Maintenance Engineers
Christopher Barrett, Ethan Bernstein, Kevin Biggins, Shaun Bledsoe, Julius Bolton, Ray Cantwell, Ceon Forte, Brad Griswold, Ray Laird, Adam Landers, Allison Lott, Mike Martin, Shawn McStay, Adam Medeiros, Kyle Monroe, Ld Morrison, Joshua Muehlberger, Brian Nupnau, Scott O’Shea, Paul Saffell, Robert Smith, Sean Stanley, Samuel Stephens, Josh Thompson, Daniel Tighe, Eric Van Gorp, Joe Ward

Video Engineers
Jd Alquist, Justin Avery, Daniel Babich, Quintavious Benton, Julius Bolton, Al Bonilla, Jeff Brown, Matt Butler, Darion Chappell, Gary Demarco, Jim Dilley, Mark Dreckmann, Juan Enriquez, Cameron Epperson, Steve Griswold, Chris Halloran, Shawn Harman, Terrence Henderson, Willie Howell, John Janke, Rick Jones, Max Kaura, Jason Kay, Mario Martinez, Patrick McConnaughey, Mark McGee, Don Mills, Anthony Mount, Robert Ormaas, Todd Parsons, Michael Price, Rocky Romero, Jeremy Rosenstein, Thomas Ruth, Calvin Savage, Scott Secrest, Peter Sichko, Katy Symanovich, Mike Todd, Jason Tuska, Mike Wagstaff, Joshua Wiggins, Steve Zelem

Broadcast Media Managers
Lindsay Bohlen, Brian Burney, Kevin Gauthier, Kylene Hamulak, Hector Hernandez, Tatianna Montalvo, Oscar Serrano, Ryan Wentworth, Adam Whitlock

Broadcast Network Engineers
Norman Barajas, Stadar Heng, John Iovino, Zachary Moline, Vance Piccin, Brian Reguly, DJ Rockwell, Anthony Valenti, Alex Ward

Password must contain the following:

A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters


The Latest in Sports Video Production & Technology
in Your Inbox for FREE

Daily Email Newsletters Monday - Friday